New FAI Executive Board Elected

During the 100th FAI Annual General Conference held at Santiago de Chile on 26 and 27 October 2006, the new FAI Executive Board has been elected.

Mr Pierre PORTMANN (FRA) was re-elected as FAI President for a new two-year term.

Messrs Robert CLIPSHAM (CAN), Bengt-Eric FONSELL (SWE) and Alvaro de ORLEANS-BORBON (ESP) have been re-elected as FAI Executive Directors, while Messrs Willi ARPAGAUS (SUI), Jonghoon LEE (KOR) and Michael HEUER (USA) were newly elected as FAI Executive Directors.

FAI Silver Medal
In recognition for his outstanding achievements and devoted work to the cause of aviation and FAI, former FAI Executive Director Hideo HIRASAWA (JPN) has been awarded the first FAI Silver Medal.

FAI Recommended Museums
The Conference awarded the status of "FAI Recommended Museum" to the Zeppelin Museum, Friedrichshafen (GER).

Next FAI General Conferences
10 to 14 October 2007 : Ixia, Rhodes (GRE)
2008 : New Dehli (IND)