Advanced World Championships Entries Reach 100

As of today, preliminary entries for the Advanced World Aerobatic Championships (AWAC) to be held in Radom, Poland in August have reached 100 pilots. Teams from 23 countries are planning to attend making this the largest aerobatic championships held under the FAI banner in decades. Final entry deadline is set for 31st May 2006.

Judges Selected for 2006 World Championships

The Bureau of CIVA has finished its balloting and selected the Judges for the two World Aerobatic Championships which will be held in 2006 (Advanced and YAK 52 events). The following judges have been selected. All of those below received a majority of votes from Bureau members who voted during the selection process: YAK WAC 2006 BUCKENHAM, Nick DROKINA, Valentina DUNGAN, Greg HAWTHORNE, Quintin MAXEN, Jan MECKLIN, Matti AWAC 2006 DROKINA, Valentina DUNGAN, Greg HAWTHORNE, Quintin MAXEN, Jan MECKLIN, Matti ZUMAGLINI, Jean

FAI Sporting Code for Aerobatics Available

The 2006 versions of FAI Sporting Code, Section 6 are now available under "Documents" on this website. "CIVA Regulations" no longer exist. All documents have been combined into two Parts -- Part 1 of Section 6 will be Powered Aerobatics (Unlimited, Advanced, and YAK 52). Part 2 is for Glider Aerobatics. These new regulations for competition took effect on 1st January 2006.

Known/Q Sequences Available for Download and Viewing

The Known/Q programmes that will be in effect for the 2006 FAI Aerobatic Championships season are now available for viewing and download on this website. Please see "Known & Q Sequences" on the homepage. The sequences are available in GIF, PDF, and VSD format (VSD is the format used with the software commonly used by many competitors to prepare their forms). These sequences were chosen at the CIVA plenary meeting recently held in Oberschleissheim, Germany from among submissions made by various national aero clubs.

CIVA Plenary Meeting

The FAI Aerobatics Commission (CIVA) met near Munich, Germany on 4-5 November 2005 at the German aviation museum in Oberschleissheim. A wide range of issues and problems were discussed. CIVA decided to award the organization of the following Championships to the cities and countries listed below: VII. Advanced World Aerobatic Championships - Radom, Poland - August 2006 VIII. European Glider Aerobatic Championships - Rybnik, Poland - July 2006 V. European Advanced Aerobatic Championships - Joensuu, Finland - July 2007 XII. World Glider Aerobatic Championships - Niederoblarn, Austria - August 2007


CIVA Meets in Munich on 4-6 November

The plenary meeting of CIVA will be held in Munich, Germany on Saturday and Sunday, 5-6 November. The meeting will be held at the aviation museum in Oberschleissheim, one of the oldest and still active airfields in Germany. The meeting will be preceded by "informal discussions" on Friday afternoon, 4 November. These discussions have become a tradition at CIVA in order to clear the air and discuss controversial issues before the plenary begins. This year's agenda includes numerous rules changes, proposed competition sequences for 2006, changes to contest scoring methods, election of new officials and officers, and reports from various Championships held in 2005.


CIVA Meeting to be held in Oberschleissheim, Germany

The location and dates for the CIVA plenary meeting have just been changed. Due to building system problems at the Kloster Banz (the original location for the meeting), the meeting has now been moved to the aviation museum at Oberschleissheim, Germany -- near Munich. The museum's meeting rooms will be utilized for CIVA's plenary and informal discussions. Dates are now 4-5-6 November 2005 with the informal discussions taking place on the first day.

WGAC Concludes Today

The World Glider Aerobatic Championships concludes in Serpukhov, Russia today with the official awards ceremonies. The event began on 20 July. Georgy Kaminski of Russia has been declared the new World Glider Aerobatic Champion. Kaminski is from Russia. He was followed in second place by Jerzy Makula of Poland (a former World Champion on several occasions) and Ferenc Toth of Hungary. Russia also won the gold medals in the team competition as well with team pilots Kaminski, Alexander Panferov, and Valentin Barabanov scoring the highest. Poland was in second and Hungary in third. T


Gerard Bichet is European Advanced Champion

Gerard Bichet of France flew to victory in the IV. Advanced European Aerobatic Championships held in Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic in mid-July. His three flights garnered 79.79% of the points possible, easing out Anatolij Belov of Russia by 105 points. In third place overall was Mikhail Pereverzev of Russia. The Russians did win the Team Championships, however, with Belov, Pereverzev, and Alexandr Kurylev being the top three of their team. France was second and the Czech Republic was third in the team competition.

Unlimited World Champions for 2005-2006

The XXIII. World Aerobatic Championships concluded in Burgos, Spain on 2nd July 2005. The contest was under the direction of Antonio Quintana. The new Overall World Aerobatic Champion is Sergey Rakhmanin of Russia. Sergey flew his Sukhoi SU-26M3 to victory for the second WAC in a row. He also won the Championships in 2003 in Florida, USA. Only one other pilot has achieved this record – Petr Jirmus of Czechoslovakia in 1984 and 1986. Rakhmanin was awarded the Aresti Cup. In the overall results, Oleg Shpolyanski (RUS) and Renaud Ecalle (FRA) were second and third. The Russians also surged to win the Men’s Team Championships with their top pilots (Rakhmanin, Oleg Shpolyanski, and Mikhail Mamistov) gathering total points of 33,517.1422 in the event. Taking the Silver medals in the team event was France followed by the USA with the Bronze. Winners were awarded the Petr Nesterov Trophy.


Proposals for 2006

Rules proposals for 2006 can now be found under "CIVA Documents" on this website. These proposals are being considered by various CIVA Sub-Committees now and will be discussed at the plenary meeting in November.