Aresti Cup Presented

The Aresti CupThe 25th World Aerobatic Championships were completed on 29 August 2009 in Silverstone, United Kingdom and over 60 pilots competed to win aerobatics' most important award, the Aresti Cup. The Aresti Cup, donated by Col. Jose L. Aresti of Spain to the FAI in the 1960's, is presented to the World Aerobatic Champion. The trophy was first awarded in 1964 to Tomas Castaňo of Spain. Not only the most prestigious award given in competition, the Aresti Cup is also a work of art --- created in silver with gold embellishments and featuring gold coins around its diameter symbolizing member nations of the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale. The trophy is topped with a golden globe which featured Col. Aresti's favorite aircraft, the Bücker Jungmeister, but which has now been lost to time. The names of past Champions are engraved around the base of the trophy. Jose L. Aresti (shown right with the Cup) was the creator and author of the “Aresti Aerocryptographic System”, still in use today in all aerobatic competitions. The Cup was presented to the new 2009 World Aerobatic Champion, Renaud Ecalle of France during closing ceremonies at Silverstone on the evening of 29 August 2009. See the "President's Page" for daily accounts of what took place at WAC. Renaud Ecalle of France, 2009 World Aerobatic Champion