Main decisions taken at the FAI Aerobatics Commission 2012 Annual Meeting

logo civa 01 cmyk mThe 2012 Annual Meeting of the FAI Aerobatics Commission (CIVA) was held on 3 and 4 November 2012 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

The replica of the Aresti Cup created by the Royal Aero Club of Spain was shown during the meeting and then taken by Russian Delegate Elina Klimovitch to give to Mikhail Mamistov, the winner of the 18th FAI European Aerobatic Championships. It will be taken to the USA in 2013 for the 27th FAI World Aerobatic Championships.

During the meeting, Vladimir Machula from Czech Republic was presented with the FAI Air Sport Medal by Mike Heuer.

Here are the main decisions that were taken during the meeting:

Future competitions

The organisation of the following competitions was awarded:



There will be no World YAK 52 Aerobatic Championship in 2013
A notice to bid was made from South Africa for combined Intermediate and YAK52 championships in 2014

Check out the calendar for all FAI Aerobatics past and future events.

Sporting Code changes

Numerous changes – refer to the Minutes when they are published.


The Leon Biancotto Aerobatics Diploma was awarded to Pavol Kavka from Slovakia.

Bureau Elections

New President : Lars-Göran ARVIDSSON

New President of Honour: Mike HEUER

New Vice President : Elena KLIMOVICH
Vice President : Matthieu ROULET
Vice President : John GAILLARD
Vice President : Nick BUCKENHAM

Secretaries : Carol HOLYK and Madelyne DELCROIX

Subcommittee Chairmen

New CIVA Rules Subcommittee : Mike HEUER
CIVA Catalogue Subcommittee : Alan CASSIDY
CIVA Glider Aerobatics Subcommittee : Manfred ECHTER
CIVA Judging Subcommittee : John GAILLARD

Technical Representatives & Special Duties

Contest Officials for 2013 competitions:

27th FAI World Aerobatic Championships (USA)
President, International Jury: Lars-Göran ARVIDSSON
Jury: Alan CASSIDY, Mike HEUER
Chief Judge: John GAILLARD

16th World Glider Aerobatic Championships (Finland)
President, International Jury: Manfred ECHTER
Jury: Madelyne DELCROIX, Karl BERGER
Chief Judge: Philippe KUECHLER

8th FAI European Advanced Aerobatic Championships (Poland)
President, International Jury: Lars-Göran ARVIDSSON
Chief Judge: Guy AUGER

Next meeting

The next FAI Aerobatics Commission annual meeting will take place on 8 to 10 November 2013 in Sweden.


[flickr set=72157631943655303]