FAI Individual Discipline Awards

The awards are to reward individuals for their contributions or achievements in the individual disciplines of airsports. FAI medals and diplomas aim at giving public recognition to those who have made outstanding contributions to aeronautics and astronautics, especially in the field of sporting aviation. They are awarded each year at the Opening Ceremony of the annual FAI General Conference.


The Leon Biancotto Aerobatics Diploma


The Alphonse Penaud Aeromodelling Diploma
The Andrei Tupolev Aeromodelling Diploma
The Andrei Tupolev Aeromodelling Medal
The Antonov Aeromodelling Diploma
The FAI Aeromodelling Gold Medal
The Frank Ehling Diploma

Amateur-Built Aircraft

The Henri Mignet Diploma
The Phoenix Diploma
The Phoenix Group Diploma


The Korolev Diploma
The Odyssey Diploma
The V. M. Komarov Diploma
The Yuri A. Gagarin Gold Medal

Aviation and Space Education

The FAI Young Artists Diploma
The Nile Gold Medal


The Montgolfier Ballooning Diplomas
The Santos-Dumont Gold Airship Medal

General aviation

The Charles Lindbergh General Aviation Diploma


The Lilienthal Gliding Medal
The Pelagia Majewska Gliding Medal
The Pirat Gehriger Diploma

Hang gliding

The FAI Hang Gliding and Paragliding Diploma
The Pepe Lopes Medal


The Ann Welch Diploma
The Colibri Diploma


The FAI Gold Rotorcraft Medal